Here are the full list of Music Victoria Awards winners

Last night, some of Victoria’s most important artists, releases, venues and festivals were honoured at the 15th Music Victoria Awards. The ceremony descended on The Melbourne Recital Centre for an evening dedicated to celebrating the brightest in the industry.

Hosted by community radio presenters Lyndelle Wilkinson and Chris Gill. The evening saw The Teskey Brothers sweep the floor, winning awards for Best Album, Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act and Best Song, and the publicly-voted title of Best Band. Sampa The Great and Courtney Barnett were honoured for Best Hip Hop Act and Best Solo Artists respectively. Whilst G Flip took home the Premier’s Prize for Best Breakthrough Act.

“We had a look at the nominees this year, and it was an incredible line-up, so to win this is such an honour for us. Thanks to everyone at Music Victoria and everyone who voted,” shared The Teskey Brothers.

You can read the full list of winners below.

Watch: The Teskey Brothers – ‘So Caught Up’


The Premier’s Prize for the Best Victorian Album of 2019 – $10,000 Cash Prize

The Teskey Brothers – Run Home Slow

Best Band
The Teskey Brothers

Best Song
The Teskey Brothers – ‘So Caught Up’

Best Solo Artist
Courtney Barnett

Best Male Musician
Paul Kelly

Best Female Musician
Erica Dunn (Tropical F*ck Storm, Palm Springs, MOD CON, Harmony)

The Premier’s Prize for the Best Victorian Breakthrough Act of 2019
G Flip

Best Live Act
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity)
Northcote Social Club, Northcote

Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity)
Forum, Melbourne


Best Festival
Golden Plains

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act
The Teskey Brothers

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year)
Theatre Royal, Castlemaine

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year)
Meeniyan Town Hall, Meeniyan

Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent
Key Hoo

Best Blues Album
Opelousas – Opelousified

Best Country Album
Matt Joe Gow – Break, Rattle And Roll

Best Electronic Act
Sui Zhen

Best Experimental or Avant-Garde Act
Naretha Williams

Best Folk or Roots Album
The Maes – The Maes

Best Heavy Album
Suldusk – Lunar Falls

Best Hip Hop Act
Sampa The Great

Best Intercultural Act

Best Jazz Album
Andrea Keller – Transients Vol. 1

Best Reggae and Dancehall Act
Echo Drama

Best Rock/Punk Album
Tropical F*ck Storm – Braindrops

Best Soul, Funk, Gospel or RnB Album
Allysha Joy – Acadie: Raw

PBS 106.7FM and Vika & Linda Bull

  • Comments are closed.
  • [custom-related-posts title="Related Posts" none_text="None found" order_by="title" order="ASC"]